

## Resolution of The Board of Supervisors of Ventura County Honoring Nordhoff High School 2012 Varsity Football Team 2012 CIF-Southern Section Champions

Whereas, after making it to the CIF-Southern Section finals in 1994, 1996, 1999, and 2007 and coming up short each time, the Rangers won their first-ever CIF title on Saturday, December 1, 2012 when they defeated North Torrance High 31-14; and

Whereas, this is the first time in 103 years The Rangers have won a CIF title championship, galvanizing the Ojai Valley community; and Whereas, big plays and performances included senior wide receiver Eric Lara returning the second-half kickoff 88 yards for an exhilarating touchdown, giving the Rangers a 14-7 lead. "That play by Lara was the biggest play in the history of Nordhoff football," said coach Henney; and Whereas, with 249 rushing yards and a pair of touchdowns by running back Tayler Livingston, Nordhoff won its first Southern Section football title with a 31-14 victory over host North Torrance High for the CIF-SS Northwest Division championship and finished their season 13-1 overall; and Whereas, the team not only worked hard on the football field, but also in the classroom, maintaining the highest team GPA in the first quarter; and Whereas, the 2012 Nordhoff High School Varsity Football Champions are, team captain Tanner Workman, team captain Brad Sloan, team captain Koby Welch, team captain Cody McMillan, Brandon Wadsworth, Jake Boyd, Johnny Esquivel, Eric Lara, Danny Morales, Dustin Boynton, Mark Burdick, Tayler Livingston, Alex Esquivel, Adam Dunn, Alexis Flores, Peter McDonald, Austin Wolcott, Taylor Brown, Danny Cornejo, Shane Hersh, Matt Woodcock, Jake Kunde, Emmett Johnsen, Hannah Greene, Nick Sterling, Eric Thrush, Jarrett Morrison, Billy Miller, Jesus Ceja, Cameron Atkinson, Kevin Crane, Sean Huntsinger, Jose Ortiz, Kelly Lopez, Jeffrey Foyil, Allen Rogers, Alfredo Meza, Austin Sidoti, Chad Dawkins, Hayden Fancher, TJ Morrison, Donny Jones, Travis Larson, Tiarnen Nelson, Anthony McGuire, Josh Williams, Cody Roddick, Taylor Moir, Anthony Abayan, Damien Lang and Ryan Abayar; and

Whereas, the varsity football coaches are head coach Tony Henney, longtime head coach and current defensive coordinator Cliff Farrar, Ryan Cuthbert, Russ Farrar, Cory Sandefur, Tyson Hardman, Scott Titus and Mark Weedon.

Now, Therefore Be It Resolved, that the Ventura County Board of Supervisors takes great pleasure in honoring the Nordhoff High School 2012 Varsity Football team and recognizes their award winning accomplishments, their dedicated leadership and teamwork and outstanding sportsmanship as the 2012 California Interscholastic Federation Southern Sections Champions.

## Presented This 11<sup>th</sup> Day of December 2012

Chair of the Board of Supervisors John C. Zaragoza, Supervisor, 5th District

Steve Bennett, Supervisor, 1st District

Linda Parks, Supervisor, 2nd District

Peter C. Foy, Supervisor, 4th District